Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic

Official name:   Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic
Date of establishment:  9 February 1924
Capital: Nakhchivan city
Territory:         5502,75 km2
National language:       The Azerbaijani language
Currency:         Manat
Population 465,7 (01.01.2023)
National structure:      99,6% Azerbaijanis
Population density:  (by person): 85 (01.01.2023)
Urban population:          165,0 thousand people (01.01.2023)
Rural population:  300,7 thousand people (01.01.2023)

An autonomous state within the Republic of Azerbaijan, known as Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic since 1990, was previously called Nakhchivan Soviet Socialist Republic from 1920 to 1923, Nakhchivan Autonomous Region from 1923 to 1924 and Nakhchivan Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic from 1924 to 1990.    
It was constituted of the capital city Nakhchivan and 7 administrative regions-Sharur, Babak, Ordubad, Julfa, Kangarli, Shahbuz, Sadarak. There are 5 cities (Nakhchivan, Ordubad, Julfa, Sharur and Shahbuz), 8 settlements, 207 villages.
According to the new Constitution of the Azerbaijan Republic received by referendum in 1995 Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is the autonomous state with in the Republic of Azerbaijan.
The autonomous state has own Constitution, Supreme Majlis, Cabinet of Ministers and Supreme Court. Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic consists of 45 deputies.
According to the Constitution the Chairman of Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is the Superme official of autonomous republic. The Supreme official of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic issues decrees according to the questions included to his/her power as specified by the Constituion but decides orders about other questions. The laws of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic are signed by the Chairman of Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.
The national symbols of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic are the national flag, emblem of the Azerbaijan Republic, the national anthem. of the Azerbaijan Republic.
The ruling system in Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is the same of the Azerbaijan Republic. The city and district administrations of the autonomous republic are headed by executive powers. The heads of the executive powers are appointed by the President of the Azerbaijan Republic upon the recommendation of the Chairman of Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.   In the session passed under the chairmanship of Heydar Aliyev, national leader, on 17 November 1990 the words “Soviet Socialist” were taken out from the official name of the autonomous republic and the name of the legislative power was changed and named the Supreme Majlis, firstly the flag of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic (1918-1920) was received the state flag of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.
Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic borders on Armenia (the length of the border line is 246 km), Turkey (11 km) and Iran (204 km).
By the help of the strongest Armenia lobby in Moscow the territory of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic was lessened to 5,3 thousand km2 because of groundless land claim of Armenia and piece by piece the lands were annexed (1924, 1928, February 1929, May 1969) which was 6 thousand km2 during Moscow (1921, March 16) and Gars (1921, October 13) treaties signing. 
Karki village of Sadarak region of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic underwent a complete economic blockade in 1991 by the Armenia Republic who started an injustice war against Azerbaijan and was occupied by Armenians on January 19, 1990. During the war the population of the one settlement and the 3 villages became displaced from their hearth lands.